NDTV article on Saurav Ghosal

Saurav Ghosal has come as a breath of fresh air for Indian squash, and, along with Joshna Chinappa, he represents a bright new dawn for the sport in the country.

Nineteen-year-old Saurav Ghosal is now the Indian number two, was the first Indian to win a British Open juniors title and the first from the country to qualify for the main draw of the senior event.He also became the junior World No 1 in 2004. He is currently ranked at World No 61.
“Honestly, I’ve had probably the best junior career an Indian has ever had in the boys. Joshna and I have raised the bar for every junior in the country, and I am proud of that. In the seniors I’ve done reasonably well. I reached 61 in two years on the professional circuit. There is a bit of disappointment that I haven’t been able to crack into the top 50 yet. I think I am playing really well and can beat anyone in the 30 to 50 bracket on my day,” said Saurav.
Having started playing at age four, the five-foot-six pocket dynamo shifted base from his native Kolkata to Chennai, and then to Leeds, where he now goes to university. His size and frame belie his potential, but Saurav’s strength lies in his ability to dominate players with his whirlwind playing style.
“I don’t think speed or endurance has much to do with it. Obviously as I grow, I’ll grow stronger and things like that, but that’s not the most important thing. The most important thing is basically the technique and the skill, which has improved since I’ve gone to England.”
“I’ve been training with Malcolm Willstrop there, and you know, using the right shots at the right time, getting a good sense of the game and tactically using the right things against the right players makes a difference,” said Saurav. The next major tournament for Sourav will be the World Open next month. He has now set his sights on a top-50 ranking by the end of this year, and a top-30 ranking by the end of the next year. And going by the progress that he has made so far, that does not seem to be a very unrealistic goal.

About Cyrus Poncha
I was born and lived in Bombay before moving to Chennai in 2001 to coach the Indian national squash team....what a journey its been!!

Leave a Reply

