PSA Otters Open – Quarters

Darren Lewis (Eng) bt Mohd. Nafiizwan Adnan (Mas) 11-5, 11-6, 9-11, 9-11, 11-10 (3-1); Timothy Arnold (Mas) bt Shahril Shahridan (Mas) 11-6, 11-7, 11-9; Saurav Ghosal (Ind) bt Gaurav Nandrajog (Ind) 11-7, 11-3, 11-8; Ritwik Bhattacharya (Ind) bt Siddharth Suchdde (Ind) 11-6, 8-11, 11-4, 7-11, 11-3 

Darren Lewis of England survived a late scare to reach his maiden semi-final in a One Star event following a gruelling 11-5,11-6, 9-11, 9-11, 11-10 (3-1) win over Mohd. Nafiizwan Adnan of Malaysia, in the PSA Otters Open Squash Tournament 2006.

“I should have won the third. But it was a big match for me and I got nervous after that lead in the third game. I think I got too cautious and it allowed Adnan to come back,” explained the fifth seed. “It was the same in the fourth. But I was more attacking in a very close fifth game. He had two match balls and in the end I was just happy to survive.”

Lewis will take on top seed and world No. 43 Ritwik Bhattacharya after the Indian ovecame qualifier and compatriot Siddharth Suchdde.

Malaysia’s world No. 111 and third seed Timothy Arnold set up the other semi-final with No. 2 seed and world No. 59 Sourav Ghosal of India after both fashioned easy wins.

About Cyrus Poncha
I was born and lived in Bombay before moving to Chennai in 2001 to coach the Indian national squash team....what a journey its been!!

Comments are closed.

