Joshna’s false statements

“Joshna is an ungrateful liar” N Ramachandran, secretary-general, SRFI, told Indian Express. “I have letters from her father and herself thanking national coach Cyrus Poncha and the federation, and she had the nerve to send complaints to the Sports Ministry saying that he did not coach her. No coach in the country is willing to train her right now.”

Joshna, now with a full-time personal coach, Egyptian Mohammed Medhat, had created a storm in squash circles by claiming that she was not part of the SRFI and that I had bagged the Dronacharya award by misusing her name last year. She conveniently forgot that others have also won international laurels in the sport. Click her to see the WISPA website where her details and my name as coach is mentioned

Her lame response is “Cyrus Poncha was not exclusively ‘my’ coach, I did train in Chennai, but there were others as well. So it would be wrong to say that he was ‘my’ coach. In fact, I trained more under other coaches from the academy than under him. That way, my father deserves the Dronacharya; he was my coach for the first seven years of my career”.
Considering she stated that she never trained at the Academy even though she was there for years (see past posts on the blog), we dont need to take notice of the never ending concoctions to cover up her earlier lies. Maybe her father should coach her now, rather than another coach.

Let players not be misguided by others to think that they are bigger than the sport itself, and should refrain from making mindless statements attacking the SRFI, complaining about prize money, selection etc. As per Government of India guidelines medal prospects are to be selected and hence we base selection on the prospects given the level of competition.

About Cyrus Poncha
I was born and lived in Bombay before moving to Chennai in 2001 to coach the Indian national squash team....what a journey its been!!

Comments are closed.

