Junior National Squash Team Day3

Boys 15
{2} Ravi Dixit {Tamil Nadu} beat {1} Ameek Sidhu {Chandigarh}  9-3 9-0 9-0
{4} Akshay Deepak {Tamil Nadu} beat {3} Taramdeep Singh {Chandigarh}  9-0 9-5 9-0
{3} Karan Malik {Tamil Nadu} beat {2} Siddharth Phutela {Chandigarh}  9-3 9-0 9-0
TAMIL NADU beat CHANDIGARH  3-0 Read more of this post


Luca di Montezemolo on the changes at Ferrari

FIAT chariman Luca di Montezemolo  hailing Schumacher and Brawn, and also speaking of the recent structural changes at Ferrari.

I’m very happy to be here today. Behind this table there is first of all a family. A group of people who have shared in 12 years difficult moments, extraordinary moments, and average moments, always with great respect, great unity, and always looking ahead. This is Ferrari’s strength.Since 1997, excluding last year, if Ferrari didn’t win the championship they lost it at the last race. Always. Since ’97, Ferrari have been the team and the car to beat, and Michael has always been the driver to beat. Drivers have changed, and so have the cars – Williams, McLaren and Renault – but Ferrari was always there. I’m happy to repeat this in front of him: Michael has not only been the most extraordinary driver in the history of Ferrari, and Ferrari have a long history in competitions, not just F1, so we have had some of the greatest drivers in the history of motor racing. Read more of this post

Junior National Squash Team Day2

Boys 15
{1} Ramit Tandon {Tamil Nadu} beat {1} Ankur Pathak {New Delhi ‘B’}  9-0 9-0 9-2
{3} Karan Malik {Tamil Nadu} beat {4} Aditya Advani {New Delhi ‘B’}  9-1 9-0 9-0
{2} Ravi Dixit {Tamil Nadu} beat {3} Akash Moitra {New Delhi ‘B’}  9-1 9-2 9-3
TAMIL NADU beat NEW DELHI ‘B’  3-0 Read more of this post

Nicky Hayden wins MotoGP

Nicky HaydenNicky Hayden snatched the MotoGP crown from the grasp of five-time champion Valentino Rossi following a dramatic final race in Valencia. Rossi led the standings by eight points before the race but saw his hopes end after sliding out on lap five. He got back on his Yamaha and finished 13th but American Hayden, 25, came home in third to take the title for Honda.

Hayden’s title chances looked over just a fortnight ago when he crashed out of the Portuguese MotoGP after being hit by team-mate Dani Pedrosa.
“I’m just real, really proud,” said an emotional Hayden after the race. You dream about being world champion and dedicate your whole life to it, so when it comes true it is very special. I may not always have been the fastest but every race I’ve tried my hardest.” Hayden enjoyed a 51-point advantage over Rossi, 27, in the standings after his victory in the US Grand Prix in Laguna Seca in July. But the Italian clawed his way back into contention before taking over the lead at Estoril following Hayden’s mishap.

Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo won the 250cc title riding for Fortuna Aprilia. Another Spaniard Alvaro Bautista on Master Aspar Aprilia won the 125 cc championship.

Junior National Squash Team Day1

Boys 15
3 {New Delhi ‘B’} lost to {1} Ameek Sidhu {Chandigarh}  2-9 4-9 5-9
{3} Akash Moitra {New Delhi ‘B’} lost to {4} Armaan Singh {Chandigarh}  0-9 7-9 3-9
{2} Sajid Hussain {New Delhi ‘B’} lost to {3} Taramdeep Singh {Chandigarh} 4-9 3-9 5-9
NEW DELHI ‘B’ lost to CHANDIGARH  0-3 Read more of this post

Junior National Squash Finals, Kolkata 2006

India national junior squash winnersResults of the finals of the Indian Junior National Championship 2006 held at Calcutta Racket Club, Kolkata:
 BU11 – Kush Kumar {ND} beat Raghav Mehrotra {MAH} 9-4 9-1 9-0
 BU13 – Mahesh Mangaonkar {MAH} beat Karan Thariamal {RAJ} 9-6 10-8 9-3
 BU15 – Ravi Dixit {TN} beat Aditya Jagtap {MAH} 9-7 9-1 9-0
 BU17 – Vikram Malhotra {MAH} beat Sujat Barua {TN} 9-0 9-0 9-2
 BU19 – Parth Sharma {TN} beat Naresh Kumar {TN} 9-3 9-5 9-3
 GU11 – Lakshya Ragavendran {TN} beat Likhitta Dugar {TN} 9-5 9-0 9-5
 GU13 – Saumya Karki {MAH} beat Anaka Alankamony {TN} 10-8 1-9 10-8 9-6
 GU15 – Harita Om Prakash {TN} beat Dheeya Somaya {MP} 9-3 9-2 9-3
 GU17 – Surbhi Misra {RAJ} beat Shivangi Paranjpe {MAH} 9-7 9-7 9-5
 GU19 – Dipika Pallikal {TN} beat Anwesha Reddy {TN} 9-4 9-1 9-3

Junior National Squash Day3

 BU11 – Quarter-Final
Kush Kumar {ND} beat Karan Kochhar {MAH}  9-3 9-4 9-1
Aditya Khatri {MAH} beat Aviroop Ghoshal {MAH}  9-5 9-5 9-2
Roshan Kanna {TN} beat Yohan Pandole {MAH}  7-9 9-4 9-2 10-8
Raghav Mehrotra {MAH} beat Yaduveer Singh {MP}  9-1 9-4 7-9 9-2 Read more of this post

Junior National Squash Day2

BU11 – Round 2
Kush Kumar {ND} beat Ravindra Dhoria {MAH}  9-0 9-3 9-4
Madhav Gupta {MAH} beat Ayush Sharma {RAJ}  9-7 10-8 10-8
Karan Kochhar {MAH} beat Aradhya Kasliwal {MP}  9-1 9-2 10-8
Aviroop Ghoshal {MAH} beat Ronijit Chaliha {ASM}  9-0 9-0 9-0
Aditya Khatri {MAH} beat Shobit Choudhary {CHG}  9-0 9-0 9-1
Roshan Kanna {TN} beat Vijen Mehta {WB}  9-0 9-0 9-0
Akhilesh Yadav {MAH} beat Adil Tibrawalla {WB}  9-2 9-0 9-0
Yohan Pandole {MAH} beat Devchand Rai {MAH}  9-5 10-8 9-7 Read more of this post

Indian Express article on Bhuvaneshwari Kumari

As the Princess of Alwar she could have led a cushy life. Instead she chose to go through the grind and spent long hours working on her fitness. She always travelled with the rest of the team even if that meant travelling on an unreserved ticket for tournaments! “Paying my air fare was no big deal for my parents. But, they never spoilt us. They were always very encouraging about my sister and I taking up something like squash and not say, polo or shooting — the symbols of royalty,” says 16 consecutive time national squash champion Bhuvaneshwari Kumari. Read more of this post

Junior National Squash Day1

BU11 – Round 1
Ravindra Dhoria {MAH} beat Touhid Boksh {ASM}  9-0 9-1 9-0
Madhav Gupta {MAH} beat Suryaveer S Kanwar {ASM}  9-3 9-0 9-1
Ronijit Chaliha {ASM} beat Karan Kishorpuria {WB}  9-3 8-10 10-9 9-0
Yohan Pandole {MAH} beat Rohan Kataki {ASM}  9-0 9-0 9-0
Manik Dutta {RAJ} beat Shounak Sokey {ASM}  9-0 9-1 9-1
Read more of this post