ICC Cricket Awards 2006

Ricky Ponting was named “cricketer of the year” and also won the “test player of the year” award.
Michael Hussey won the “one-day international player of the year”.
Mahela Jayawardene was declared the “captain of the year.
England’s Ian Bell was named as the “emerging player of the year”.
Another Aussie, Karen Rolton won the “women’s player of the year” award.
Simon Taufel was named “umpire of the year”.
England won the “spirit of cricket” award.

Test team: Matthew Hayden (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), Ricky Ponting (Aus), Rahul Dravid (Ind, captain), Mohammad Yousuf (Pak), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wicketkeeper), Andrew Flintoff (Eng), Shane Warne (Aus), Makhaya Ntini (SA), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Glenn McGrath (Aus). 12th man: Brett Lee (Aus).

One-day team: Adam Gilchrist (Aus), Mahendra Dhoni (Ind), Ponting, Mahela Jayawardene (SL, captain), Yuvraj Singh (Ind), Hussey, Flintoff, Irfan Pathan (Ind), Lee, Shane Bond (NZ), Muralitharan. 12th man: Andrew Symonds (Aus).


About Cyrus Poncha
I was born and lived in Bombay before moving to Chennai in 2001 to coach the Indian national squash team....what a journey its been!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: