Twenty20 cricket rules

India play their first Twenty20 match today. These are the main deviations from normal cricket rules:
Each innings should last no longer than 75 minutes, equating to an average of three minutes 45 seconds per over.
Teams will incur a six-run penalty if they fail to bowl the full 20 overs within the 75 minutes.
Batsmen must be ready to take guard or in position at the bowler’s end within 90 seconds of a wicket falling.
Only two fielders are allowed outside an inner circle for the first six overs of a team’s innings.
Individual bowlers are permitted a maximum of a fifth of the total overs in a completed innings ie four overs if there is no delay or interruption caused by rain.
Umpires can impose a five-run penalty for time-wasting by batsmen. They are expected to be ready as soon as the bowler is ready.
No-balls will be penalised by a free-hit next ball – a batsman cannot be out from a free-hit delivery unless they are run out.
Each side must face a minimum of five overs to constitute a match. The Duckworth-Lewis method will be used to calculate run targets in rain-affected games.


About Cyrus Poncha
I was born and lived in Bombay before moving to Chennai in 2001 to coach the Indian national squash team....what a journey its been!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: