14th Asian Junior Championships

The 14th biennial Asian Junior Championships being held at the ICL Squash Academy, Chennai. has attracted a total of 10 teams in the men’s event and 9 teams in the women’s event. The individual draw consists of 51 boys and 42 girls.

The No.1 seed in the boys individual event is the star player from Hong Kong Leo Au, who won the Asian junior Individual championships in Korea 2008. The second seed is Ivan Yeun from Malaysia who was the runner up at the recently concluded British junior Open squash championship. Seeded to meet them in the semi finals are Kamran Khan from Malaysia and India’s No.1 Aditya Jagtap respectively. In the absence of defending champions Pakistan the hot favourites in the boys team event is Malaysia. India been seeded 2 and arch rivals HK a close 3.

British Open Champion from Malaysia Low Wee Wern is the top seed and India’s no. 1 Dipika Pallikal is the second seed in the event. Tong Tsz Wing from Hong Kong and Song Sung Mi from Korea are seeded to reach the semifinals. In the women’s team event, Malaysia will start as favourites with Hong Kong seeded no.2. India is seeded 3rd with Korea seeded 4th. The Individual events will be held from 16th to 19th January 2009 and the team event will be held from 19th to 23rd January 2009.

The 14th Asian Junior Squash Championships are funded by the Government of India along with India Cements Limited as the co-sponsors. The official clothing supplier for the Indian team is ‘Black Knight’. Squash enthusiasts will be treated to world class junior squash throughout the week. There will be an official opening ceremony with a team march-past on 16th January 2009 at 0930hrs at the ICL Squash Academy. Mr. Debendranath Sarangi, IAS, will officially inaugurate the Championship. This will be followed by first round matches of the individual events. Mr.K.S.Sripathi, IAS, Chief Secretary, Govt. of Tamilnadu, will give away the prizes on 23rd Jan. 2009 in the evening at 18.00 Hrs.

The Asian Squash Federation will also hold its 29th AGM on 23rd January 2009 at the Courtyard Marriot, Chennai. Election of Office Bearers will be held during this AGM. The ASF elections, which are held once every 4 years will elect a President as well as 3 Vice Presidents. World Squash President Mr. N. Ramachandran, will step down as the ASF President after his 2 terms (8years) as President.


About Cyrus Poncha
I was born and lived in Bombay before moving to Chennai in 2001 to coach the Indian national squash team....what a journey its been!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: