20th Asian Junior Individual, Jordan (25-29 Jun’13)

Indian youngsters return home with 2 silvers and 5 bronze medals from 20th Asian Junior Individual Championships in Amman, Jordan.

Anaka Alankamony was dethroned by Ho Ka Po in the Girls Under-19 final. Under-par Anaka failed to take her chances and was made to pay by the Hong Kong girl. Anaka led 7-2 in the first game but failed to close it out and squandered game points in the second and third games as a grateful Ho Ka Po took the title.

Veer Chotrani lost to Muhammad Hafiz Abdul Harif of Malaysia in the Boys Under-13 final. Second seed Veer Chotrani put up brave resistance and took the second and third games into extra points but could not take a game as the Malaysian top seed held his nerve to take the title.

Saksham Choudhary (Boys under 13), Ranjit Singh (Boys under 15), Robin Maan (Boys under 15), Harshit Kaul Jawanda (Girls under 17) and Kush Kumar (Boys under 19) won bronze medals to boost Indian overall tally to 7 medals.

Rahul Baitha has been the revelation at this tournament, with impressive wins over Abdelrahman Alsarraj of Jordan an Wong King Yeung of Hong Kong. Kush Kumar put in a strong shift against Syed Ali Mujtaba Shah Bokhari in the Boys Under-19 Semifinal. Saksham Choudhary beat Tushar Shahani but crumbled against Muhammad Harif in the semifinal.

A total of 156 participants from 13 countries took part in 8 categories (boys and girls under 19,17,15and13)
Participating nations were :
Hong Kong, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Kuwait, Iraq, Iran, Qatar and Jordan.

Final Placings:

Girls Under-19:
2. Anaka Alankamony
7. Lakshya Ragavendran
9. Sachika Ingle
17. Anandita Gupta

Girls Under-17:
3/4. Harshit Kaur Jawanda
8. Tanvi Khanna
9. Adya Advani
11. Jui Kalgutkar

Girls Under-15:
6. Aishwarya Bhattacharya
7. Akanksha Salunkhe
9. Nikita Joshi
10. Ashita Pranaya Bhengra

Girls Under-13:
5. Abhilasha Bhasin
6. Samita Sivakumar
8. Navmi Sharma
9. Adwiteya Kasliwal

Boys Under-13:
2. Veer Chotrani
3/4. Saksham Choudhary
6. Rahul Baitha
7. Tushar Shahani

Boys Under-15:
3/4. Robin Mann
3/4. Ranjit Singh
9. Adhitya Ragavan
13. Yohann Surti

Boys Under-17:
6. Sandeep Ramachandran
8. Velavan Senthil Kumar
9. Aishwarya Singh
11. Mudit Pant

Boys Under-19:
3/4. Kush Kumar
8. Deepak Mishra
12. Madhav Dhingra
13. Vijay Kumar

About Cyrus Poncha
I was born and lived in Bombay before moving to Chennai in 2001 to coach the Indian national squash team....what a journey its been!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: