Saurav Ghosal and Joshna Chinappa retain National squash titles

Defending champion Joshna Chinappa defeated Dipika Pallikal 11-8, 11-7, 11-2 in just 23 minutes to win her eighth national title, at the Secunderabad Club

The 22-year-old reigning champion won a wonderful display of drive-ins from both flanks and complemented them with some delectable drops. Joshna said she was determined to win straight to prove a point and she had trained at the ICL Academy. “It is always a great feeling to be the National champion, though the first title when I was just 14 stands out as very special,” said a jubilant Joshna. “Every National is a different proposition and one needs to be consistent over the years to win these titles. I am happy that I am able to do that,” she said.

Title-holder Saurav Ghosal (Tamil Nadu) warded off a spirited challenge from Siddarth Suchde (Maharashtra) before winning his fourth successive crown 11-13, 11-8, 11-5, 11-4. It was a top-class match. Saurav came from abroad a few days before the nationals while Siddharth had trained for a month in Chennai and benefited by it. The last few games were well fought and it was the experience of Saurav that helped him prevail.  “I dedicate this win to my grandparents — Dr. S.B.N. Ghosal and Dina Ghosal,” an elated Ghosal said.

In the pro-category, the 23-year-old A. Parthiban defeated his former coach and 10-time champion B. Balamurugan 12-10, 8-11, 11-7, 11-8 in 48 minutes to lift the title in his maiden appearance.

N. Ramachandran, President, Squash Rackets Federation of India, gave away the prizes.

Men: Saurav Ghosal (TN) bt Siddarth Suchde (Maha) 11-13, 11-8, 11-5, 11-4.

Women: Joshna Chinappa (TN) bt Dipika Pallikal (TN) 11-8, 11-7, 11-2.

Pro : A. Parthiban (TN) bt B. Balamurugan (TN) 12-10, 8-11, 11-7, 11-8.


SPA squash championship

Men’s (semifinals): Siddharth Suchde (Mum) bt Parth Sharma (Che) 11-6, 11-6, 11-1; Harinderpal Singh (Che) bt Gaurav Nandrajog (Del) 9-11, 11-9, 8-11, 11-7, 11-8.
Professionals (semifinals): B. Balamurugan (Che) bt Rohit More 11-1, 11-6, 13-15, 11-5; Sachin Jadhav bt Sanjay Pawar 17-15, 11-9, 11-9.

National Squash Quarterfinals

Men: Saurav Ghosal (TN) bt Supreet Singh (Mah) 9-0, 9-0, 9-2; Harinder Pal Singh (TN) bt Parth Sharma (TN) 6-9, 10-9, 10-8, 9-7 ; Siddharth Suchde (Mah) bt A. Parthiban (TN) 9-1, 9-3, 9-2; Gaurav Nandrajog (ND) bt Naresh Kumar (TN) 10- 9, 4-9, 9-3, 9-5.Women: Joshna Chinappa (TN) bt Dheeya Somaiya (MP) 9-0, 9-1, 9-0; Anwesha Reddy (TN) bt Komal Sharma (TN) 9-0, 9-0, 9-0; Dipika Pallikal (TN) bt Anaka Alankamony (TN) 9-0, 9-1, 9-1; Surbhi Misra (Raj) bt Harita Omprakash (TN) 9-0, 9-0, 9-0.

Professional: Balamurugan (TN) bt Vijay Jangra (Raj) 9-4, 9-1, 9-2; Kalimuthu (TN) bt Desappan (TN) 8-10, 9-5, 9-3, 9-1; Sanjay Pawar (Mah) bt Hari Om Tripathi (TN) 10-8, 9-3, 9-1; Dalip Tripathi (WB) bt Vinodh Kumar (TN) 9-1, 9-4, 9-2

Senior National Championships 2006 Women / Pro

Womens – Round 2
Joshna Chinappa {TN} beat Deepti Suri {ND}  9-0 9-1 9-0
V. Anwesha Reddy {TN} beat Mansi {ND}  Walkover
Sruti Ashok {TN} beat Kudrat {CHG}  9-0 9-0 9-1
Dipika Pallikal {TN} beat Vasundhra {ND}  9-0 9-0 9-0 Read more of this post

Otters Open – Final

Men’s Open: Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (Chennai) bt Vikas Jangra (Mah) 9-7, 9-6, 9-0.
BU-19: Vikram Malhotra (Mah) bt Parth Sharma (Chennai) 3-9, 9-2, 3-9, 9-3, 9-1.
BU-17: Vikram Malhotra (Mah) bt Laxman Joshi (Mah) 9-3, 9-0, 9-0.
BU-15: Ravi Dixit (Chennai) bt Aditya Jagtap (Mah) 10-9, 6-9, 9-10, 9-4, 9-3.
BU-13: Mahesh Mangaokar (Mah) bt Abhishek Pardhan (Mah) 9-6, 9-2, 9-10, 9-3.
BU-11: Kush Kumar (Del) bt Arjun Kochhar (Mah) 9-4, 9-4, 9-4.
Women’s Open: Mandy Kennedy (England) bt Alisha Mashruwala (Mah) 9-5, 9-0, 9-7.
GU-17: Surbhi Mishra (Raj) bt Shivangi Paranjpe (Mah) 9-7, 9-7, 9-5.
GU-13: Saumya Karki bt Sachika Balwani 9-7, 10-9, 9-5.
Men Over-35: Rohit Thawani w/o Deepak Kochhar.
Men Over-45: Vaman Apte bt Deepak Kochhar 6-9, 9-3, 4-9, 9-3, 9-3.
Pro: B. Balamurgan (Chennai) bt Rohit More (Mah) 9-2, 9-6, 9-0.

Senior Nationals 2005 – Bombay Gym

Ritwik, Joshna win Sr Nationals, Parthiban, Harinder, Anwesha, Lakshya win at the Bombay Gym Open
TN players – Saurav, Joshna, Balmurugan, Harinder, Parthiban, Anwesha, Lakshya enter finals.

TN players enter semis