Asian Juniors & Masters, Colombo, Sri Lanka 7-10 July ’10

Ravi Dixit created history today by becoming the first Indian male to win an Asian Squash title at the Asian Junior Individual Championship held at Colombo, Sri Lanka from 7-10 July 2010.

Ravi Dixit, a product of the Indian Squash Academy, made history by becoming the first Indian to win the Under-19 boys’ title in the Asian junior squash championship (Individuals) in Colombo on Saturday. Dixit played and won what easily must have been the best match of his career. Down two games and staring at defeat with a match point down against the second seed Pakistan player Waqas Mehboob, the Indian fought back splendidly to defy all odds. Dipika got over a brief phase of uncertainty when her concentration lagged to put it across Malaysia’s Low Wee Nee in four games 11-8, 12-10, 10-12, 11-8. In the previous edition, Dipika had lost to Nee’s sister Wern in the final. Dipika became the first player ever to win both the u15 & u19 Asian title.

Read more of this post

Ravi & Kush win in Malaysia

India won two age-group titles in the Milo All-Star Malaysian Open squash championship here Saturday as Ravi Dixit (boys under-19) and Kush Kumar (Boys under-15) won their final matches.

Dixit defeated second seed Mohd Zul Azri of Malaysia 11-5, 11-7, 12-10 while Kush Kumar overcame Vin Tan (Malaysia) who conceded the final after losing the first game 7-11 following an injury. Dev Vazirani of India upset top seed Eugene Heng of Malaysia 11-9, 9-11, 3-11, 11-9, 11-8 in the boys under-11 semi-finals, but lost the final to Pakistan’s Hammas Ahmed Tarar 8-11, 5-11, 1-11.

British Junior Open Squash Finals

G13 Yathreb Adel (Egy) bt Salma Hani (Egy) 11/7, 11/8, 3/11, 11/8 (39m) 
B13 Amr Aboul Souad (Egy) bt Kush Kumar (Ind) 11/7, 7/11, 9/11, 11/9, 11/7 (41m)

G15 Nour El Sherbeny (Egy) bt Kanzy El Defrawy (Egy) 11/6, 11/6, 10/12, 4/11, 11/4 (42m) 
B15 Mahesh Mangaonkar (Ind) bt Oliver Holland (Eng) 11/5, 7/11, 11/5, 12/10 (40m)

G17 Nour El Tayeb (Egy) bt Nouran El Torky (Egy) 12/10, 11/8, 11/6 (24m)
B17 Amr Khalid Khalifa (Egy) bt Danish Atlas Khan (Pak) 11/5, 11/3, 14/12 (40m)

G19 Wee Wern Low (Mas) bt Dipika Pallikal (Ind) 11/2, 11/8, 8/11, 11/8 (42m) 
B19 Mohamed El Shorbagy (Egy) bt Ivan Yuen (Mas) 11/8, 11/7, 13/11 (33m)

Malaysian Junior Open 2008

Aparajitha Balamurukan (Gu15) & Kush Kumar (Bu13) win the Malaysian Junior Open 2008.

Ravi Dixit (Bu17) – 2nd position, Anwesha Reddy – 3rd position (Gu17), Roshan Kumarakannan (Bu11) – 4th position.

Junior National Squash Finals, Kolkata 2006

India national junior squash winnersResults of the finals of the Indian Junior National Championship 2006 held at Calcutta Racket Club, Kolkata:
 BU11 – Kush Kumar {ND} beat Raghav Mehrotra {MAH} 9-4 9-1 9-0
 BU13 – Mahesh Mangaonkar {MAH} beat Karan Thariamal {RAJ} 9-6 10-8 9-3
 BU15 – Ravi Dixit {TN} beat Aditya Jagtap {MAH} 9-7 9-1 9-0
 BU17 – Vikram Malhotra {MAH} beat Sujat Barua {TN} 9-0 9-0 9-2
 BU19 – Parth Sharma {TN} beat Naresh Kumar {TN} 9-3 9-5 9-3
 GU11 – Lakshya Ragavendran {TN} beat Likhitta Dugar {TN} 9-5 9-0 9-5
 GU13 – Saumya Karki {MAH} beat Anaka Alankamony {TN} 10-8 1-9 10-8 9-6
 GU15 – Harita Om Prakash {TN} beat Dheeya Somaya {MP} 9-3 9-2 9-3
 GU17 – Surbhi Misra {RAJ} beat Shivangi Paranjpe {MAH} 9-7 9-7 9-5
 GU19 – Dipika Pallikal {TN} beat Anwesha Reddy {TN} 9-4 9-1 9-3


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,141 other followers