Asian Juniors & Masters, Colombo, Sri Lanka 7-10 July ’10

Ravi Dixit created history today by becoming the first Indian male to win an Asian Squash title at the Asian Junior Individual Championship held at Colombo, Sri Lanka from 7-10 July 2010.

Ravi Dixit, a product of the Indian Squash Academy, made history by becoming the first Indian to win the Under-19 boys’ title in the Asian junior squash championship (Individuals) in Colombo on Saturday. Dixit played and won what easily must have been the best match of his career. Down two games and staring at defeat with a match point down against the second seed Pakistan player Waqas Mehboob, the Indian fought back splendidly to defy all odds. Dipika got over a brief phase of uncertainty when her concentration lagged to put it across Malaysia’s Low Wee Nee in four games 11-8, 12-10, 10-12, 11-8. In the previous edition, Dipika had lost to Nee’s sister Wern in the final. Dipika became the first player ever to win both the u15 & u19 Asian title.

Read more of this post


Ravi & Kush win in Malaysia

India won two age-group titles in the Milo All-Star Malaysian Open squash championship here Saturday as Ravi Dixit (boys under-19) and Kush Kumar (Boys under-15) won their final matches.

Dixit defeated second seed Mohd Zul Azri of Malaysia 11-5, 11-7, 12-10 while Kush Kumar overcame Vin Tan (Malaysia) who conceded the final after losing the first game 7-11 following an injury. Dev Vazirani of India upset top seed Eugene Heng of Malaysia 11-9, 9-11, 3-11, 11-9, 11-8 in the boys under-11 semi-finals, but lost the final to Pakistan’s Hammas Ahmed Tarar 8-11, 5-11, 1-11.

Jodhpur Open Squash Championship 2010, 19 – 23 April 2010

Men: Siddharth Suchde beat Ritwik Bhattacharya 11-5,9-11,13-11,16-14
U-19: Ravi Dixit beat Vrishabh Kotian 3-0
U17: Vrishab Kotian beat Uttkrash Kumar 11-5,11-7,7-11,11-7
U-15: Manik Dutta beat Vijay Kumar 11-8,8-11,11-7,11-6
Over 35: Deepak Moolani beat Khangaram Choudary 11-6,11-8,11-3
Read more of this post

Ravi wins Malaysian Junior (26 May – 2 June 2009)

Ravi Dixit an ICL academy player became the first Indian to win the Milo All Star Malaysian Junior Open Boys under 19 title in Kuala Lumpur. Given top billing, Ravi had to go thru 6 rounds before defeating home favourite in the final Jo Wen Ng in 4 games 11-8,6-11,12-10,11-9. In the semi final, Ravi defeated country mate Karan Malik in a closely contested match 11-7, 1-11, 11-8, 12-10 and had it tougher in his quarterfinal defeating Julius Krauss from Australia 11-6,5-11,11-4,4-11, 11-9.
This is Ravi’s third international title after winning the Scottish Junior and Penang Junior Open. Last year, Ravi was the runner up in the Boys u17 category at the same event. Ravi was naturally delighted after his victory and wanted to thank the Squash Rackets federation of India, the Delhi Squash association, his coaches for supporting him and the Indian government.
Karan Malik finished in 4th position in the Boys under 19. Ramit Tandon secured 3rd position in the Boys under 17 after losing his semi final match to Ng Long Fung from HK 9-11,11-9,3-11,11-8,11-5.
Robin Mann finished 3rd one head of Solomon Ravi playing in his maiden international tournament in the Boys under 11.
Ravi Dixit, Karan Malik & Ramit Tandon along with coach Gautam Das participated in this event with support from the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sport under the scheme for “Preparation of Indian teams for the CWG 2010”

Indian boys create history

India stuns France 2-1  to reach the World Team semi finals for the 1st time ever!!!

Well done Vikram, Aditya, Ravi and Ramit.

India enters the semis for the first time

India enters the semis for the first time

Anaka u-15 Asian Junior champ

Anaka Alankamony bagged India’s lone gold medal at the Asian Junior Squash Championship, while both Dipika Pallikal and Mahesh Mangaonkar settled for silver after losing their respective finals in the tournament which concluded in Busan, Korea. Anaka, the top seeded, beat Hong Kong’s Ho Ka Po 9-6, 9-6, 9-5 in the girls under-15 category final to clinch her eighth international title. Read more of this post

Malaysian Junior Open 2008

Aparajitha Balamurukan (Gu15) & Kush Kumar (Bu13) win the Malaysian Junior Open 2008.

Ravi Dixit (Bu17) – 2nd position, Anwesha Reddy – 3rd position (Gu17), Roshan Kumarakannan (Bu11) – 4th position.

5th ICL Chennai Open: Round 1

1* Saurav Ghosal (IND) bt B. Balamurugan 11-1, 11-9, 11-9 (35m)
8* Naresh Kumar (IND) bt Colin Ramasra (Tri) 11-7, 11-8, 9-11, 11-5 (30m)
4* Neil Hitchens (ENG) bt Ramit Tandon (Ind) 11-4, 11-3, 11-7 (28m)
5* Mohammed El Shorbagy (EGY) bt A. Parthiban 11-8, 11-8, 16-14 (33m)
Parth Sharma (IND) bt 6* Yasunori Ishiwata (JPN) 11-5, 9-11, 11-9, 11-7 (36m)
3* Dick Lau (HKG) bt Sujat Barua (IND) 11-1, 11-6, 11-6
7* Gaurav Nandrajog (IND) bt Max Lee 8-11, 12-10, 8-11, 11-7, 11-4 (53m)
2* Wai Hang Wong (HKG) bt Ravi Dixit 11-3, 7-11, 11-8, 12-10 (46m)

5th ICL Chennai Open: Qualif

The qualifying round commenced for the 5th ICL Chennai Open a US$ 6,000 PSA event being held at the ICL Squash Academy in Chennai. The event is held from 12-16 July 2007.The star attraction will be local boy and World # 42 Saurav Ghosal who has been given the top seeding. Four juniora who returned from Kuala Lumpur last night had an opportunity to qualify for the event. Ravi Dixit and Ramit Tandon defeated Paramit Singh and Karan Malik respectively to qualify for the main draw. The Sujat Barua played a tight and consistent game to upset Shakti Singh. B. Balamurugan got a bye into the main draw.

Ravi Dixit bt Paramit Singh 8-11, 11-6, 16-14, 11-5; Ramit Tandon bt Karan Malik 11-8, 11-8, 11-4; Sujat Barua bt Shakti Singh 11-6, 7-11, 11-5, 12-10; B. Balamurugan – bye

Milo All Star 2007

Second round: Ravi Dixit  bt Cameron Deehan (Aus) 10-9, 9-2, 9-5; Karan Malik  bt Choi Won-seok (Kor) 9-1, 9-4, 9-1; Ong Han Jie bt Varun Prakash  0-9, 10-9, 9-4, 9-3
Third round: Garas bt Ravi 4-9, 7-9, 9-5, 9-3, 9-6; Kai Chi bt Karan 10-8, 9-2, 9-2

Second round: Laxman Joshi  bt Mayhar Abrisham Zendeh (Iri) 9-0, 9-0, 9-2; Vikram Malhota  bt Kim Jae-ohan (Kor) 0-9, 9-6, 9-4, 5-9, 9-1 Nikhil Jeet  w.o. Kunwarpal Singh ; Lee Seung-taek (Kor) bt Gunraj Singh  7-9, 9-6, 10-8, 9-1
Third round: Laxman bt McQueen 9-3, 7-9, 9-1, 9-3; Cowell bt Vikram 9-6, 4-9, 9-1, 4-9, 9-1; Nyeon-ho bt Nikhil 9-1, 9-0, 9-0; Kam bt Seung-taek 9-3, 9-6, 8-10, 9-6

Second round: Surbhi Misra  bt M. Imelsha Dulani Se Silva (Sri) 9-1, 9-0, 9-0; Lee Ka Man (Hkg) bt Harita Omprakash  9-3, 9-7, 9-2; V. Anwesha Reddy  bt Lim Sue Yen 9-1, 9-4, 9-5
Third round: Surbhi bt Nunn 9-3, 9-6, 9-0; Anwesha bt O’Neill 9-4, 9-2, 9-0