Australian Open MW15 (6-12 Aug’16)

Dipika Australian OpenIndia’s national champion and top seed Dipika Pallikal Karthik saw the chance and grabbed it ,beating the eighth seed Mayar Hany of Egypt in the final to bag the trophy in the Australian Squash Open, a PSA world tour event in Melbourne.
The Indian, smarting after the loss in the title-round in the earlier tournament, the Victorian Open had a minor scare when the Egyptian rival snatched the first game. But not allowing that to unsettle her mind, Dipika swept aside her rival to complete a memorable 40-minute exercise 10-12,11-5, 11-6, 11-4 for her 11th PSA title. Read more of this post

Victorian Open PSA MW10 (2-7 Aug’16)

Top seed Dipika Pallikal suffered a defeat against second seed Millie Tomlinson of England in the finals of the Victoria Open squash event held in Melbourne.

Pallikal lost 11-6, 4-11, 11-3, 7-11, 9-11 to Tomlinson in the final match to finish runners-up at the event.After cruising through to the title round with a convincing 11-4, 11-4, 11-2 win over Egyptian Nouran El Torky, Dipika met with resistance that would turn into a stumbling block.The two players traded two games each before the English player ended the 80-min script in her favour. Read more of this post

SquashTime #23

SquashTime Logo

Click her to read more

National Championship 2016 (12-18 Jul), Mumbai

Nationals 2016 winners.jpgDipika Pallikal dethroned 14 time champion Joshna Chinappa to regain the women’s national title for the second time at the Otters 73rd National Squash Championship held in Mumbai. Dipika, who was playing in the nationals after a five-year gap when she won in 2011, made it to the tops once again by beating arch-rival Joshna 4-11, 11-6, 11-2, 11-8 in 43 minutes.

The men’s crown was captured by title holder and top seed Saurav Ghosal, who created history by winning it for the 11th time, defeating fourth seed Harinderpal Singh Sandhu in five hard-fought games.

Ghosal beat Sandhu 11-7, 7-11, 3-11, 11-8, 14-12 after an 88-minute battle to go past RK Narpat Singh’s feat of 10 titles, won from 1946 to 1955.

“We have played five national finals. We played well right through. There was very little to separate us. It’s hardest to play Harinder Pal. It was one of the most enjoyable and high quality matches I have played,” said Ghosal after his triumph.

It was also his second successive five-game match after having got past third seed Vikram Malhotra in the semi-finals.





  • Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu bt Mahesh Mangaokar 6-11, 13-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-8;
  • Saurav Ghosal bt Vikram Malhotra 11-6, 5-11, 11-9, 11-9.


  • Joshna Chinappa bt Akanksha Salunkhe 11-6, 11-2, 11-4;
  • Dipika Pallikal bt Sachika Ingale 11-5, 11-1, 11-4.

Quarterfinals :

Men :

  • Saurav Ghosal bt Vijay Kumar 11-8,11-2,11-6;
  • Vikram Malhotra bt Kush Kumar 11-5, 8-11,10-12,11-9,11-7;
  • Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu bt Ravi Dixit 11-6,11-7,11-3;
  • Mahesh Mangaonkar bt Velavan Senthilkumar 11-4,11-6,11-6.

Women :

  • Joshana Chinappa bt Jui Kalgutkar 11-5 11-6 11-4;
  • Akanksha Salunkhe bt Urwashi Joshi 12-10 11-9 11-5;
  • Sachika Ingale bt Adya Advani 11-5,11-4,11-8;
  • Dipika Pallikal Karthik bt Lakshya Ragavendran 11-3 11-4 11-4;

SRFI Referees Clinic

Referee Clinic

SRFI conducted a Referee Clinic on 12th July at the Otters Club in Mumbai. The clinic covered various topics including – Rules Refresher, Discussion on Interference (Rule – 8), Injury (Rule – 14), Conduct (Rule – 15), Discussion on equipment change, Ball change, Distraction, Ball hitting a player, Fallen object, Elite player movement and refereeing, Referee and Marker calls refresher and Assessments Guidelines. 28 of India’s referees attended this clinic.

Pioneer Cup, Cologne (7-11 Jul’16)

Yash Fadte - PioneerIndia’s top junior Yash Fadte did himself proud by finishing runner up in the boys U-15 category in the Pioneer Cup 2016, a super series junior event organised by the German Squash Federation in Cologne. He was the only Indian player this year to reach this high. In the final, Fadte went down fighting to the top seed English player Jared Carter in five games after leading 2-1 at one stage. Carter won 12-10, 6-11, 9-11,11-7, 14-12. The country’s number two ranked U-15 player, Fadte had a impressive run otherwise beating 5/8 seed Andre Igelbrink of Germany in the first round. Thereafter he got past Adam Jirousek (Cze) and Yassim Amir (USA) in the next two rounds. In the quarterfinal, the Indian brought down the second seed Miguel Mathis of Switzerland before sweeping aside the Egyptian challenger Ashraf Abdelnaby in the semi-final. Read more of this post

WSF Instant Update Edition 63

Click her to read

PSA Ranking (July’16) Joshna touches a new high

JoshanaNational champion Joshna Chinappa touched a new high in her ranking by rising to number 10 in the world, the highest she has ever reached in her squash career. She is the second Indian in history to come into the top 10 in the world after Dipika Pallikal who had risen to this level in the December of 2012. The latest happening, a jump by one rung, must certainly have been for the good show she had put up in the HKFC International tournament in Hong Kong towards May end. After the good show in the Asian championship in Chinese-Taipei, the same month, the Indian star had finished runner up in Hong Kong, losing to top seeded Joelle King of New Zealand but not before ousting the second seeded Annie Au of Hong Kong in the semi-final. Joelle is now a rung above Joshna while Annie is placed one step below the Indian. Joshna is now getting ready for the Indian national championship to be held later this month. She is on the look out for her 15th national championship title. Read more of this post

Summer Classic, Delhi (25-30 Jun’16)


Delhi Gymkhana Club successfully hosted the Summer Classic, a 3-star SRFI junior event. This national junior circuit event received an overwhelming response with 366 participants from 18 states. The total prize money of Rs 4 lakh was sponsored by Truly Nolen International. Read more of this post

Feature – Maj. (R) S. Maniam

A journey that was fulfilling and enjoyable right through

Maj. (R). S. Maniam (manager).jpgMay 16, 2002 will remain an important day in Maj (retd) S. Maniam’s life. That was the day Maniam had landed in India from Malaysia, with loads of ideas for the dream squash project of Mr N. Ramachandran (the then SRFI Secretary-General). Three courts at the Nehru park beckoned him. The moment was apt to reflect on Chinese thinker and philosopher Lao Tzu famous saying, “a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” So it was for Maniam. A structured development concept and an unquenchable passion for the sport in hand, wherewithal assured and an in-born confidence to face challenges that army life had taught him, the Malaysian expert, who had been associated with his country’s squash development for long was ready for the big step.  Read more of this post